The First Attempt

After way to much thinking, questioning, and re-thinking, I have finally decided to enter into the wonderful world of blogging. I am not sure what I will be writing about from day to day, I just enjoy writing. I hope that someone may read my words and relate, laugh, be interested, or something… If not, at the very least I will have gotten some of the chaos out of my busy mind. Almost every single night I lay in bed, my toes freezing and my brain churning. For some reason my brain turns on the moment my body decides it is time to sleep. In the past I kept a journal by my bed that I would fill with my ridiculous teenage drama, but now that I am older(and hopefully wiser) I feel like I should share some of my craziness with the world… or just the few Facebook friends that are bored enough to check this out.

These days my life is significantly less dramatic, in a very good way, but I have lost some of my creativity. I used to draw and write a lot. Looking back at some of my old poetry I realize that I tended to write when I was depressed. Which apparently was often back in high-school, but who doesn’t hate high-school? Now that life is so great I don’t have much sadness driving me. Being creative has always been essential to my happiness, but I am most creative when I am unhappy. Ironic. I tell myself to paint today, or work on my story tomorrow, yet somehow I struggle to find the motivation to create. I have a creative blockage, and it is as painful as it sounds.

I suppose that is why I am starting this blog; to get my creative juices flowing  and have something out-there in the world that is pushing me to be creative. Maybe someone will “like” my post and that would encourage me to keep going. I am hoping I will start drawing, painting, writing, taking pictures, doing SOMETHING that I can share with people via a blog. My blog.

I found this quote that I think sums up my problem:

“Don’t think. Thinking is the enemy of creativity.It’s self-conscious, and anything self-conscious is lousy. You can’t try to do things. You simply must do things.” ~Ray Bradbury

I think WAY to much. I over-analyze everything and it get’s me no where. Time to just do it. Like Nike. (That reference should make the boyfriend smile. =P)

~ Alyssa

One response to “The First Attempt

Leave a comment